EGOSOFT unveils the next chapter in its long-standing space simulation franchise. X4: Cradle of Humanity is the second expansion for the latest game in the series and it takes us back to Earth!

X4: Cradle of Humanity, the second big expansion for X4: Foundations, brings the X series back to Earth. While significantly increasing the size of the game's universe with new sectors, the expansion also welcomes two Terran factions to X4: Foundations, along with their economy, ships, weapons and stations. New game-starts introduce the identity and political stance of the Terran factions, as well as give an alternative perspective on existing story developments in X4: Foundations.

X4: Cradle of Humanity also sheds a light on what has happened to Earth in the decades since the jump-gate shutdown. Furthermore, a certain pirate faction that is well known to fans of the series is making a dramatic comeback.

X4: Cradle of Humanity is accompanied by the biggest free update to X4: Foundations yet. Update 4.0 further enhances X4: Foundations in a number of ways, including major new gameplay features (e.g. a new terraforming feature) and wide-ranging visual improvements (e.g. volumetric fog).

The teaser trailer for X4: Cradle of Humanity will premiere today at 23:45 CEST / 10:45pm BST / 5:45pm EDT / 2:45pm PDT during the gamescom studio live show, produced by IGN, over at www.youtube.com/IGN.

Main Features

  • Big expansion of the X4: Foundations universe with new sectors
  • Return of Terran factions with economy, ships, weapons and stations
  • Thrilling new story missions and adventures to experience
  • New game-starts that allow new perspectives on the X4: Foundations story
  • Introducing a new terraforming gameplay feature, evolving the endgame
  • Visual improvements such as volumetric fog, making the X universe look better than ever

X4: Cradle of Humanity is now listed on Steam and can be added to players' wish-lists. Alternatively, by purchasing the X4: Foundations Collector's Edition bundle, space adventurers can secure access to the expansion when it is released as well as benefitting from a discount over buying it separately.